Song of the Week: “How I Spent My Summer” – Cat Mother

21 Jan

This week’s tune comes from Cat Mother and the All-Night Newsboys, on their 1969 debut album The Street Giveth and the Street Taketh Away. The band had some commercial, top-40 success with the album’s lead-off, “Good Old Rock and Roll,” which is a fun track but doesn’t reflect the style of the rest of the record. Some highlights for me include “Charlie’s Waltz,” “Marie,” “Boston Burglar,” and the nearly 10-minute instrumental tune they close the album with, called “Track in ‘A’ (Nebraska Nights).” “How I Spent My Summer” is my favorite, though.

One notable trivia fact is that the album was coproduced by Jimi Hendrix, who used Cat Mother as his opening act for a time. The album often retails for ridiculous amounts online, but I see on Amazon it’s being rereleased in February 2013, and can be preordered for $13.

Leave a Reply

