Song of the Week: “Jackie” – Sinéad O’Connor

24 Sep

The first Sinéad song I got was “Jump in the River” on the Married to the Mob soundtrack—in fact, it was one of the reasons, along with Debbie Harry’s cover of “Liar, Liar,” that I purchased the album. Eventually I picked up a copy of The Lion and the Cobra at a used-music store downtown. I popped it into the tape player as I was leaving the parking lot but didn’t make it to the street. This first track on the album, a ghostly tale of love lost on the sea, astounded me and I parked again to wait until it ended. The video below is a live version from her Value of Ignorance video.

Leave a Reply

